Time to nut up or shut up

Posted: June 20, 2012 in Running
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Morning.

People I’ve noticed something…We are a bitchy species. We think that everything is owed to us because we are, supposedly, at the top of the food chain. As if by the fact that we are the most technologically advanced species on the planet means the world needs to bow to our everywhim. Not being hypocritical, I’ve felt that way sometimes. I’ve felt that way recently too shit.

I had an epiphany last night. It’s not really an epiphany as it is a cold hard fact, but it’s a magical moment when one stumbles upon what I’m about to tell you. It’s time to nut up or SHUT THE FUCK UP! If you look in the mirror and you don’t love what you see…Have the courage, the gumption, the hairy manly balls to fix it your self. No one owes you a perfect body. No one owes you good health. No one owes you a damn thing. But you owe it to yourself to do the best you can with what you have. Perhaps if we gave our health and fitness the same kind of effort that we give to our bitching obesity rates would decline. Health would improve.

Like I said, this hit me like a metric ton of shit bricks last night. Middle of my run I had this thought, and it persisted throughout the run. Wanna know the coolest thing about it? It doesn’t only apply to health and fitness. Anything on earth that you are unhappy about you have the ability to change. I can’t tell you that it won’t be hard and that it won’t require sacrifice in other areas, but cheese and rice…if you think it’s something that needs to change or if it’s something that brings you an ounce of unhappiness…You owe it to yourself to fix it. Because if you come to me and you say yadda yadda yadda I’ve got so many problems…The first thing I’m going to do is ask you what you are planning to do about it? If you don’t have a plan or can’t at least tell me that it’s something you can fix or are looking for a handout I might just kick you squah in the nuts (south park reference anyone?).

I know this post seems brash and harsh coming from me, the usual happy go lucky puffin, but this puffin ruffled his own damn feathers and found some shit he didn’t like…So I’m fixing it. I’m taking responsibility. I started a #whole30 today and failing is not an option. Get a plan, work out what you need to change, and then take action into your own hands. It’s your life, for lack of better phrases, You Only Live Once…Make the fucking best of it.

Comments
  1. allstarme says:

    I appreciate that you said this. I have some blog readers who are constant excuse-makers about their size and exercise and it makes me so darn angry. I agree: you aren’t happy? Then get out there and work it. Thank you.

  2. […] because, well, I didn’t take my own advice in my last post, which can be conveniently found here. So, it’s time to start taking that advice and stop being a […]

What do you think?