Good morning fellow Puffins,

Today we are going to talk about a sore subject with us overweight folks. Accountability. You know, that word that makes you, well, accountable for all the dumb shit we do in our lives? Accountability, that word that gets us in trouble at work and causes all sorts of grief in our diet exploits? Yes, that word. Although, today I’m not going to tell you why that word sucks. Instead, I’m going to tell you why it should really be your best friend, and why we need to just nut up and be accountable for the terrible shit we do to our bodies. I also argue that we should be accountable for the great things we do for our bodies.

First of all, accountability, particularly for our health, starts and ends with…you guessed it…YOU! No one else can be accountable for you. It’s not your spouse’s job to make sure you don’t eat that donut at work. It’s not their job to make sure you get your ass off the couch and actually move. No. It is entirely YOUR JOB! Stop being lazy about it. Lord knows that I’ve been lazy ever since coming off my whole30. I thought going right back to 80/20 primal would be cake…But that’s exactly the problem…Cake, coke, crackers, chips, all that shit that I was off of. All that shit has magically started looking delicious again. I’ve been partaking too. In fact, I haven’t been primal at all in probably a week. This is a problem with me, and I’m going to be accountable for it. I’m going to be accountable about it with all of you. I haven’t been the greatest role model since coming off my whole30. Not that I expected to be perfect, but my god I’ve gone back to eating complete shit. Time for that to stop.

Secondly, accountability doesn’t mean you need to beat yourself up if you slip up. That’s not what I’m going to do, and that’s not the spirit of this post. My intention isn’t to guilt you into thinking you have to be perfect in your nutrition and exercise. Real life doesn’t allow for that, and I don’t expect that of myself and you shouldn’t either. Accountability is simply being able to look at where you screwed the pooch, admitting you screwed the pooch, and then fixing what’s wrong. That’s accountability. That’s what I think of when I think of accountability. Luckily for me, if I eat something I know I shouldn’t have (particularly a large amount of something sweet) I am immediately accountable and begin my repentance by praying to the porcelain gods. That’s an unfortunate side effect of gastric bypass. Double edge sword really. Dumping isn’t pleasant, but it does make you immediately accountable and causes you to reflect on what the hell you just ate. Then you get to make the decision of Was it really worth it? Usually it’s no.

Does this really need a caption?

Accountability forces reflection, reflection forces thought, and thought forces change. Only through change can we make any difference. Don’t believe me? The definition of insanity is: Doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different outcome. Eating shit makes you feel that way. So why, unless you are clinically insane, would you think that continuing to eat shit will make you feel any better? It’s common sense. Unfortunately, common sense seems to be lacking quite a bit in the general population really. It seems that you either have it or you don’t. No middle ground. I believe that you, because you are here, have common sense and I’m asking that you use it in your day to day life.

So this week’s homework for all of us, mostly me, is to be accountable for day to day decisions. Not just in health and fitness, but other places in life. Opportunities come all the time, it’s our lack of accountability that makes us miss them over and over again. If we were accountable for missed opportunities we’d be more apt at recognizing them when they arrive. Or you could be like the rock up there, and go to your opportunities rather than waiting on them to come to your candy ass.

 

Until next time,

Puff

 

What do you think?

