Morning folks,

I just thought I’d drop in and give a brief update on my Whole30 journey and keep you in the loop. It’s been a bit over a week since I started my Whole30 and the first week was a breeze. It helps that I’ve been primal for a few months now as well. I’d already kicked many of the bad habits that most people need to get rid of during their Whole30. So that aspect of the challenge has been pretty simple. However, I know this is often a difficult time for most people on the challenge. I see forum posts all over the place about coping with the cravings or what not, and while there is no real simple way to beat the cravings, there is a way to deal with them that all but guarantees success…STOP BUYING THAT SHIT.

It’s simple, if it isn’t in the house, it can’t be eaten. It really is that simple. Now for families that aren’t ALL doing a whole30 that might be problematic. I’m in that situation to an extent, but the worst crap that my PREGNANT wife buys is animal crackers and peanut butter crackers…Those things I don’t care for in general anyway so it’s not a huge deal. It also helps that she doesn’t get any weird cravings for ice cream or crap like that. She eats a mostly primal diet…Except for white potatoes, beans, and the stuff listed above, she is pretty primal compliant. So that helps tremendously. I wish I had advice for the folks that have spouses or children that don’t/won’t eat a clean whole30 with you, but I don’t. I’m not in that situation. What erks my nerves are single people or families who want to do a whole30 but keep buying the crap they aren’t supposed to be eating, and then sit back and ask why on Earth they can’t stop themselves from eating that

Whole30 shouldn't be this hard.

junk…SUGAR IS AS ADDICTING AS CRACK…Or so I’ve been told. It’s odd that there isn’t a 12-step program for kicking the white powdery drug that is sold in every single grocery store on the planet…That would be quite a profitable business…HRM…Maybe I should look into this. Possible business venture on the horizon I think. Uh oh.

Anywho, the biggest change that I’ve noticed since I entirely cut out cheat meals and that kind of stuff is that my gut feels way better. My gut has been plaguing me for a couple of weeks, ever since I got sick, and I hadn’t completely eliminated gluten from my diet again, I was following the 80/20 principle of being primal, but still occasionally have a roll or croutons in my salad…I’d get these weird pains in my gut, sometimes intense enough to wake me up at night. Since cutting out gluten all together, that issue has disappeared. So that’s fantastic news.

 

So far this whole30 thing hasn’t been as difficult as I thought it would be. I think that I’ll probably continue on with my whole30, depending on my sanity as the time grows closer, after the 30 day point. Only time will tell. Just thought I’d give you an update on how things were going. Has anyone else started a whole30 recently? What are your successes/obstacles?

 

Until next time,

Puff

Comments
  1. CalliValley says:

    I was so inspired by you I started my whole30 3 days ago! I have the bypass also and love that you’re into barefoot and primal!

    • Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad that I could be an inspiration to you. Going paleo and barefoot have been the two best health decisions in my life. Bypass was just the catalyst for this wonderful journey

What do you think?

