Morning dedicated minio…followers,

Today is the first day of my first ever #whole30 challenge. I bet you thought that I was going to say this is the first day of the rest of my life…or some such sappy nonsense. I’ve been tweeting over the last couple of days about doing a whole30 challenge and I think it’s time for me to start that. Freshly restocked paleo groceries also makes that a simpler task. I’ve been meaning to do a whole30 challenge for quite some time now, but I never got around to doing it because, well I’m lazy, and well, I like to be flexible with my eating. However, given the recent bout of stomach problems that are still semi lingering, I think it’s time to do a really clean paleo month, and what better way to do that than a whole30 challenge?

I’m sure most of you are wondering what that is exactly. But Puffin, what exactly does a whole30 challenge look like? What does that entail? Fear not my minions. For I come armed with LINKS. For the low down on a whole30….start here. It’s pretty self-explanatory. For those newcomers, who are fresh from under the rocks you have been living under, here is the low down on the paleo diet. You can get the same info from the whole30 link, but I like MGBG and that post in particular. Not to mention, he’s goofy, runs barefoot, makes me laugh so hard I piddle sometimes, and he needs all the love he can get. These are all things I can get behind and support. You should too. For those of you not familiar with my own background, shame on you, really, I expect you all to know more about me than I know about myself….I refer your to here and here. 10 points for a double link to myself. Yes, I’m that awesome.

The whole30 challenge should be pretty interesting for a few reasons. First, I’ve never been super strict on my paleo nutrition. Meaning I’ve never been upset if I cheated while out with friends/family etc…Since there are no cheat meals here, this should be interesting. Secondly, I’ve never eliminated SO many things from my diet at once. Dairy will probably be the most difficult, but as I’ve mentioned before, I already think I might have a slight case of lactose intolerance, so that may not prove to be terrible. Thirdly, I’m hoping this will kill me evil love of grains and baked goods once and for all. If not, hopefully it will at least dampen it.

One of the key steps of a whole30 is not weighing yourself for the entire 30 days. As any fat person knows, that is damn near impossible. I weighed myself yesterday for my weigh-in prior to this challenge and I weighed in at 199. Which is kick ass for a few reasons. Most importantly it’s because that is the lowest I have weighed since 10th grade…Almost uhm…8 years ago. So that’s my starting weight. I’ve lost ~30 pounds since going Paleo/Primal in the middle of December, and I won’t see until March 21, what I weigh again…So this should be interesting.

 

So now that I’ve rambled on long enough, I have a few questions for you my loyal readers. Have you done a whole30 before? If so, what were your experiences.

If you haven’t, why not join me? Start today, your very next meal…Your body will thank you.

 

Until next time,

Puff

What do you think?

