Alright folks it’s time to get a little personal.

For months now I’ve been ranting and raving and filling your head with ideas. For months you’ve been listening, and I’ve received quite a few e-mails and messages asking for a before and after type post about my health and fitness journey. Well, I’m not going to do that. Sorry to disappoint, but I don’t believe in before and after posts.

I will give you a before and in progress post. That’s what I’m going to do. I’m going to open the door to my personal progression, and let you see, firsthand, what I’ve struggled with, had success with, where I was when I started and where I am now. This is going to be a long post, and I can’t promise that it will be SFW…Eherm..Moobs are still boobs and quite NSFW. I’m going to lay it all out for you. Love me or hate me, you’ll know about what I’ve been through over the last 3 years of my life.

Enough of my chatter, let’s get to the tits…err I mean bits.

Life following CW

I’ve always been the heavier kid. In elementary school I had the nickname Tubby T. Yeh, confidence booster right there. In 6th grade I was pretty big. I’d say about 140ish lbs at just over 5ft. My grandmother, bless her soul, signed us both up for Weight Watchers. On this plan I had good success. I got down to a good weight of about 120 or so and I stayed there. I continued on with Weight Watchers, guided by my grandmother, until 9th grade. This is where I really started to balloon.

In 9th grade I began eating out more often with friends, weight watchers became an embarassing thing…Seriously who wants to whip out a point calculator at the table with their friends? I was active in sports, but that was the end of my exercise. I was pushing close to 200 lbs by the end of my 9th grade year. My weight continued to grow throughout my high school years, and at graduation I was a, in my opinion, massive 265 lbs. I was fat, bloated, hated exercise, and a World Of Warcraft addict. Long gaming sessions fueled by soda and chips were a common thing. It was not odd for me to play 16-18 hours a day…Yah, it was crazy.

Then I went off to college at Oklahoma State University. WOOP WOOP. Go pokes, all that jazz. When I entered college I was 270ish pounds, but I was determined. I now had a free gym membership, and I was determined to start eating “better” and exercising again. It wasn’t uncommon for me to spend 5-6 days a week 2-3 hours at a time in the gym. I was fueled by gatorade, power bars, and chicken breasts. I did well. I got down to about 245 within a few months of my freshman year. Quite different than the freshman 15 most people add. I was excited. However, I never addressed my real issues of will power. I’d come home for holidays, where treats were abundant and I’d gorge. No one’s fault but my own.  I’d go back to school with the intention of eating “clean” and exercising harder than before. However, my weight continued to climb. I tried low carb, I tried anabolic dieting, I tried fasting, I tried the Special K diet. That one was quite easy to do because uhm…I LOVE CEREAL! All the while my weight continued to climb while my time in the gym continued to decline.

My uber hot wife, and myself while in school at OSU.

While in school, my mother underwent Gastric Bypass. Her transformation was amazing. She was suffering no ill effects, and had lost well over 100lbs. It was the best she had ever looked in her life. She was happy again, and had a joy for life again that I hadn’t seen in quite some time. For the entire process of her surgery, we talked about doing it for me. I was against it. I just knew I could do it on my own. However, 4 years of not being able to do it on my own, not having the “will power” to succeed on shitty nutritional plans and ridiculous amounts of time in the gym, left me beaten and broken. In december 2009, I met with the bariatric surgeon that did my mother’s surgery. Dr. Warnock talked with me about the procedure, what exactly would happen, and we set a date. At the initial consultation, I weighed 310lbs. Now if only I was 7ft…That wouldn’t be so bad. But being under 6ft that left me quite rotund around the middle. I underwent the nutritional counseling, which was more CW (Conventional Wisdom for those of you not in the know), and I understood I’d have to change the way I ate. Kind of. I just kind of went along with, you’ll be eating less, calories in calories out, that’s why you’ll lose weight kind of stuff. I thought it was normal. More on that later.

Look at mah sexay tittehs.

I had my surgery on December 29th, 2009. Within 24 hours of surgery I was walking up and down the halls of the hospital. I was determined to get out of the hospital as quickly as I could. I did everything I was told, and it all seemed to be working so well. All of my post op check ups were clean. I was doing wonderful. I was dropping weight, not fat, but weight on the scale everytime I checked on it. Things were looking up. I was happier, I had more energy, life was going my way finally.

My thoughts on the surgery

Before we go any further, I’d like to say a few things about the surgery. First of all, as much as I hate to say it, if I had known then, what I know now about nutrition, I would NOT have had the surgery. With that being said, I owe my life to my surgeon. Without undergoing the surgery, I wouldn’t have become so interested in health and fitness. Also, I’ve seen people struggle after surgery. Not with weight loss but with real medical conditions. Let me say this, I have had NO medical problems with my surgery. NONE. Not one. No intense pains, no rupturing, no nothing. It has been pretty smooth. I believe this directly relates to the surgeon and the patient’s willingness to follow protocol post op. So, if you are considering the surgery, I urge you to find a surgeon that makes you feel comfortable. That makes TIME FOR YOU, and LISTENS to what you are saying. I know, that at any given time, I can pick up the phone, call my surgeon’s cell phone and he will see me. Day or night. Let me explain this to you..I live an hour from his office. He hasn’t seen me, medically, in over a year, and when I call him, he knows who I am. He knows my voice, he knows when we last saw each other. And for all of you going, yah, he’s got your medical records jack ass…You’re right he does, but I highly doubt he keeps them at his bedside. Remember the part about being able to call day and night…Yah, at 3:00 am he’ll know who I am once he wakes up. That my friends, is the difference in success and failure with this surgery. If your surgeon can’t provide that same level of care, I’d recommend a new surgeon. I feel like this man helped me recover my life. Life that I wasn’t really keen on living. For that, I owe this man everything. That’s how I feel. For those of you sitting there, but you said you wouldn’t have had the surgery, yeh you’re right, but I did. That decision is long gone and over with. That decision was a catalyst, a spark, a realization that life doesn’t have to be this way. Now, I’m determined, I have an urge, an urge to live the life that I want to live. I will never give that urge up. I would have the surgery 1,000 times over if it meant that I’d end up where I am now. Happy, full of life, and determined to be healthy, both mentally and physically. So was it worth it…YES.

Back on topic…

During the two years post op, I lost around 90ish pounds. I hovered between 220 and 225. I looked better, but wasn’t where I wanted to be. I had slipped back into my old habits of soda, pasta, candy, all the shit your not supposed to eat post op. Remember how I said I kind of listened to the nutritional advice about changing how I should eat. Yeh, this is what I meant. However, thanks to the nature of the surgery, I never put weight back on. Eating like I did I thought for sure I was going to put weight back on, but I never did. However, I did notice my physical and mental health declining. I was moody, irritable, bloated, gassy, suffering from IBS, losing my food a lot, sleeping terribly, always stressed about something, etc.

Looking for a way to start the weight loss again, I turned to running. Another CW thing I thought might work. Little did I know that I would begin to like, no LOVE running. I started off modestly with the couch 2 5k program. This was great. While my weight didn’t budge, I mentally felt better. I was still irritable, but much less than usual. I wasn’t always stressed out, and I wasn’t quite as moody. I loved going out for a run. Then, like 90% of the barefoot running community I read Born to Run, and I went out and bought a fancy pair of those toe shoes. I immediately swapped my running into those, and have had great success. I run the majority of my runs barefoot now, and I can’t imagine going to back to clunky tennis shoes.

Barefoot running led directly to this blog. It’s the single activity that made this blog happen. Blogging my own thoughts out to millions, oh alright 3 people, led me to reading other blogs. These other blogs led me to nutritional blogs and this weird thing called Paleo. Now, I’ve discussed the paleo diet a bit here on the site, and I’ve linked to different blogs that I think are the most helpful in getting started. Paleo is NOT what this post is about, so I won’t be relinking again.

2 years post op, and 10 days into Primal/Paleo living. Not the difference in nipple size. Silver dollars down to quarters. HECK YES

In December 2011, I decided to jump feet first into paleo nutrition. I made a concious effort to control my nutrition. I also made a concious effort to take my health back into my own hands. Since December 15th I’ve lost 22lbs. That’s in just over a month. Now let me put that in perspective. I hovered between 220 and 225 for 6 months. Never going above or below it. I ran 4-5 times a week, didn’t lift weights, and I thought I was just destined to be 220-225. Given that I am now used to challenging CW I thought I’d give this paleo diet a try and see if I could do it post gastric by pass, and see what would happen. Worst case scenario, nothing and I just go back to the way I was before.

I went through the 3-4 day transition from high carb to low carb feeling like SHIT. Seriously, it was like a Mack truck hit me. I was irritable, tired, starving, and craving sugary balls of more sugar. Then, one morning, I woke up…I was clear headed, I felt great. I had a noticeable spring in my step. I felt energized. I started doing short bodyweight work outs. I ignored my scale. Two weeks went by and I was feeling great. I was looking better in my clothes, my mood was stabilized, I was sleeping through the night, I was keeping all of my food down, and it had become almost impossible for me to stress out. I felt amazing. Then I stepped on the scale. Same scale I always weigh on at my mom’s. Butt ass nekkid, I got on to see what was really going on with my weight…The scale read 212.5. I nearly dropped a brick right there on the bathroom floor. I had dropped almost 14 lbs in just under 2 weeks. From then on, I’ve been hooked. Sure, I cheat here and there, and I enjoy meals with friends and what not, but I’m primal/paleo at least 90% of the time. I’ve since then dropped another 8 lbs and weighed 204 this past weekend. I’m feeling fantastic, and I know now that it is my nutrition (I HATE THE WORD DIET) that is making this happen. I know this because my workouts have been less frequent, my running has been almost non-existant, thanks to weather not motivation, and I’ve continued to lose “weight.” My muscle mass is increasing, my food tastes better, and I feel fantastic. If those aren’t reason enough to try the paleo diet for at least 30 days, I don’t know what are. I’m hooked, and I can quite honestly say, I’ve never felt better in my life.

Me, again 2 years post op and 10 days Primal/Paleo. It's a work in progress.

In 3 short years, I’ve gone from a general lack of desire for life; to being happier, healthier, sexier, and having an insatiable love of life. I want to try everything. I’m so excited for what my future holds now that I can’t ever believe that I was in such a dark place like the one I was in 3 years ago. I can’t possibly thank the people that have supported me and put up with my pansy bullshit for this whole time. My amazing wife and my family deserve a lot of credit for putting up with all my shit, and without them this probably wouldn’t have been possible. They all think I’m crazy, but they support me none the less. I have a daughter on the way, and I know now that I will be able to play in the yard with her, and take her on runs, coach her games, and teach her about life and how great things are and can be. Things are going the way they are meant to for me and my family, and I wake up each morning excited for what the day may bring.

Now you know all about me and my health journey. You know what I’ve been through, how my road has taken shape, and how I plan on forging my own path from now on. You know when I tell you I’ve been through something that I really have. I’ve opened myself up for ridicule and moob jokes, and I don’t honestly care about that. Call me fatty mcfatfat if you like, doesn’t bother me. Make fun of my moobs…Doesn’t bother me. I’m working on it. They’ll be gone soon enough.

Now that you know all of this stuff, what is holding you back from making your own decisions and taking your life into your own hands?

Until next time,

Puff

Comments
  1. wartica says:

    Glad to hear you’re doing well:) I’ve been there with my weight and it’s not a fun road to be on,Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:)

  2. mixie says:

    Cheers–you look great! Can’t wait to hear about your further progress. I’m a year in to to the PB way of life and can’t possibly be any happier. Is your wife eating Paleo/Primal style, too?

    • No. Not at the moment. I’m working on converting her but she does support me 100%. She keeps non primal foods in the house to a minimum or limited to stuff I don’t really care to eat. Shes also pregnant so I’m pretty lax with what she brings into the house. Not looking for a fight there haha.

      • mixie says:

        Wise man ;0) –maybe link her to some of the paleo-baby/primal mama blogs? There’s some great writing out there on paleo-from-birth action!
        Wholeheartedly agreed, though. Low stress > dietary perfection ;0)

        Cheers to you!

      • Yep. It amazes me how much better I feel when I don’t stress over how many carbs I’ve had in a day, or what my caloric intake is for the day. Things are just so much simpler. Today was a bad day to me due to illness. Only thing I could keep down and could get to settle my stomach was lemon/lime soda, chicken noodle soup, and saltine crackers. Not primal by any means. Oh well, tomorrow is a new day.

  3. Mom says:

    I am so very very proud of you! I love you more each day …even with all the trends we’ve seen you work through. This one is doing its justice for you and that thrills me.

  4. Amber Cross says:

    Inspiring post! Love the honesty! Thanks for the openness…I didnt know about all this… Happy to hear (read?) youre doing well and that youre happily married! Congrats on everything

  5. lowcarbcookery says:

    Thanks for the post and the honesty. Good luck on your journey!

  6. Dale Barnard says:

    Sometimes, the more personally one writes, the more universal the reach.

  7. […] you, really, I expect you all to know more about me than I know about myself….I refer your to here and here. 10 points for a double link to myself. Yes, I’m that […]

What do you think?

