Good evening Puffins,

I’m going to start a regular foodie type deal. Many of you know that I’m working on simplifying my life. A big part of that is simplifying my cooking and nutrition. Now, by no means am I a good cook. I experiment from time to time in the kitchen, and when I do, I’m going to start taking a few foodie photos. All of the food I cook is going to be primal blueprint or paleo approved. So there is that to keep in mind. The inspiration for this new category of my blog is the food photo thread over at Mark’s Daily Apple. I spent the better part of my afternoon looking at all the delicious pictures posted over there and it made me inspired to get in the kitchen and cook tonight. Not only that, but plating was, for the first time, interesting to me. Usually I just toss it all on a plate and go.

 

Without further rambling; here is tonight’s dish.

Yah, it was even better than it looks.

Tonight’s dish was a simple grilled chicken breast, cauliflower puree, and sauteed baby spinach. The chicken was brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with black pepper, sea salt, and garlic seasoning. Unfortunately I was out of fresh garlic.

Something I’ve been experimenting with is creating paleo/primal blueprint comfort foods. One of my favorite foods is mashed potatoes. Cauliflower makes for the perfect substitute. The “fauxtatoes” were seasoned with the same spice mix as the chicken. It’s super easy to make too.  All you need is a food processor, microwave, and a head of cauliflower. I start by breaking the florets off the stalk of the cauliflower and then putting the florets into a microwave safe dish. I set the microwave for 8 minutes and walk away. This, in my experience, has been long enough to get the cauliflower soft. After that toss the florets in the food processor and turn it on. I add a little home made butter (if you’d like, I will post instructions for it too), and heavy whipping cream. Just keep processing until you get the texture of potatoes that you like. Easy and delicious.

I sauteed the spinach in my homemade butter and seasoned it the same way as the chicken and fauxtatoes. That’s about 2 cups of uncooked spinach. It winds up being 1/4c or so of cooked spinach. It loses a lot of volume by cooking, and it’s my preferred way to eat baby spinach. Absolutely delicious.

The best part about tonight’s dinner is that it is quick and simple to make. All in all it took me about 20 minutes to make. Not bad for a quick primal blueprint dinner.

 

Stay tuned folks,

Puff

Comments
  1. buffbetty1 says:

    looks delicious! I always feel so good about myself when I eat a complete primal meal! good job! http://www.buffbetty.wordpress.com

  2. Thanks for stopping by Betty. It indeed was declicious. Best part is the leftovers heh.

What do you think?

