Hello my fellow stuffed Puffins.

How was everyone’s holidays? I bet they weren’t as good as mine, but I hope they were wonderful. This was, by far, the most awesomest bombdiggitiest Christmas that I’ve had in a very long time. So let’s get into the meat and potatoes (quite literally).

 

Work:

Work was pretty easy going all week. Most people aren’t too interested in plopping down copays and deductibles for medical procedures that may or may not be necessary to saving their lives over the holidays. They’d much rather wait until after they’ve gotten to spend their time with loved ones, eaten tons of food that we all know we shouldn’t, and come back home with a whole new set of New Year’s Resolutions. I’m all for that. Cool with me. Makes my work day simple…Simple and dull. Yep. I can get behind that.

Running/Fitness

It’s no secret, other than the sprint workout and run I had with my sister last week, running just didn’t happen. However, I did lift many heavy things (namely my body) several times throughout the week. Mostly doing Burpees, pushups, planks, squats, etc. My body feels much better for it, and as per the primal blueprint, I’ll be following adding these workouts in two or three times a week. Don’t worry though, as I mentioned before, I still love running and it will be an integral part of my fitness regime. After the first I plan on making a slosh tube. For those of you who don’t know what this particular torture device is, let me enlighten you with a few links here and here. It looks simple, but I’m pretty sure that device was concocted by the same evil scientist that decided that sliced white bread was good for us. In fact, the slosh tube was probably created to cover up the fact that white bread is terrible for us…But such is life. I also plan on making sand bags for throwing, lifting, building a wall in case of a flood, etc. It’s always good to have sandbags around. Now, I don’t think I need to give you a link on how to build a sand bag. Your kids have been doing it for years…You did get them a sandbox when they were little right?

My diet, starting Friday night and ending Sunday night, consisted of the typical holiday fair. Cornbread stuffing, turkey, ham, deviled eggs, cranberry sauce, potato salad, mac and cheese, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes (with delicious marshmallow goo), etc. It was anything but primal, and I’m ok with that. Yah, you read that right. I forgive myself for eating all the delicious foods that I love to eat during the holidays. Guilt is a thing of the past. It’s part of the 80/20 rule. Essentially, you strive to eat 100% paleo/primal but it actually only winds up being about 80%. I’m cool with that. Strive to do the best you can. When you fall off for a meal or 12 like me…Don’t beat yourself up. Start again the next morning. That’s exactly what I did. Bacon and eggs for breakfast yesterday with home made butternut squash soup for lunch and dinner. Had an orange this morning with some pan roasted chicken and more butternut squash soup sitting in the lunch box for later. Yep. It’s that simple. So stop obsessing about what you ate. Start worrying about what you are eating right now, at this moment. Yah, look down…See that cereal glop in your bowl? Just put it away.

Don’t wait until 01-01-12 to start your healthy eating habits. Start them now, or if you are in between meals, start it at the next meal. There is no better time to start. It’s like having kids, you’ll never be ready enough to have one, so you just kind of have to jump into it. Except, you can always change your diet, there isn’t really any going back on having kids. So make sure you at least discuss that idea first.

 

Baby update/personal

As you know myself and Mrs. Puff are expecting a little puff of our own. We had our first and presumably only ultrasound on Thursday. We found out, after much poking prodding, and nervous waiting by daddy that we are having a girl. Now, to be fair, we both wanted a boy and I did let out an audible doh! when we finally saw the goods, or lack there of. Not that we were disappointed or anything, we just wanted a boy. We have decided to name her Aubrey Lynn. We have a wager going on. I bet that she is naturally born barefoot? Anyone want to wager against me? I didn’t think so. I’m super excited that she is healthy and right on schedule, and that in about 5 months my life will become uhm…hectic, manic, crazy, unscheduled, and all the while I’m sure it will be a hell of a lot of fun. I’ve got ultrasound pictures all over the office, and I’m especially proud of the clearly visible arches that my baby’s feet have. Yah, I’m a nerd like that. I’ve already designed 5-6 different soft star mocs for her that I like. Yah, once a shoe geek always a shoe geek I suppose. We’ve decided on a monkey theme for her. It’s a bit different, but still allows for pinks and what not that everyone will undoubtedly buy..I mean it’s hard to avoid. Have you seen a baby section recently??? It’s ALL PINK!!! Come on, girls look cute in other colors too people.  Anyway, like I said, we are super excited and can’t wait for her to be here.

That’s all for this time folks,

 

Puff

What do you think?

