Weekly Recap and Reflection

Posted: November 14, 2011 in Barefoot, Children, Family, Health, Inspiration, Life, Paleo, Running, Society, Work
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Good morning my fellow Puffins,

It’s time yet again for another weekly recap. Holy crap November is half over already. Sheesh, where does the time go?

Work

Work this week was better. We are getting into the flow of things with our new program and it’s starting to run smoother. That’s not to say there weren’t trials this week, but they were fewer and farther between. Hopefully things keep getting better.

Running

This week was a slow week for my running. I only got out for 3 runs, and they weren’t very long. I did have my first group run with the Lawton/Ft. Sill running club this week. Small crowd but everyone was nice and one of the founding members is a fan of barefoot/minimalist running. That’s always cool. I wanted to get out for a run yesterday, but a nagging stiff hip didn’t want to cooperate. So I listened to my body and let it rest yesterday.  Definitely getting out for a run tonight. Going to run until my feet can’t carry me anymore. I feel like I need to get some stuff worked out of me.

Personal

This week was especially hard for my family. Sunday, November 6, we lost someone who was a member of our family and had lived with my mom, dad, and sisters for over a year. He had become a shoulder to cry on for my mom while I was away at school. He was a big brother to my sisters when they needed one and I couldn’t be there. He held my place while I was away. He couldn’t replace me, and he didn’t look too. He simply saw a void and filled it. It’s hard to imagine how things would have been with me gone had he not been there. He had lived a tough life, tougher than most, yet not as tough as some, and through it all he maintained a smirk, a certain swagger about himself. He prefered to live life in the present and not dwell on the past. He was quiet. He never spoke much, but when he did, it was with purpose and confidence. He wasn’t a saint, but he didn’t profess to be one either. He’d made mistakes and learned from them. He taught us, at least me, that there are no regrets. Only lessons learned. He wasn’t afraid of life. I think that is his biggest contribution to my family. Life had thrown him some curveballs, but he never quit swinging. He didn’t back down in the face of adversity. Some may say that this is ignorant or blind courage. I say this is admirable and is the way we should all live our lives. He spent such a short time on this earth, but made the type of impact that people wait their entire lives for. They say that hindsight is 20/20, but he taught me to use foresight more than hindsight. He taught me to always look ahead, and for that I am truly thankful. He shall be missed.

R.I.P Damien.

Until next time,

Puff

What do you think?

