Natural Running Form.

Posted: October 26, 2011 in Barefoot, Fitness, Health, Primal, Running, Shoes, Weight loss
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

With the barefoot, pose, minimalist, chi, natural, primal, etc running movements taking off all at once a lot of discussion has been made in regards to form. By the way, why the hell do we have so many names for, in my opinion, basically the same thing? All of the things listed above basically preach the same things.

Something that I’ve noticed a lot on the forums that I frequent, the barefoot runner’s society and birthdayshoes respectively, is that everyone wants to be told what proper running form is. They want to be told how to achieve this, apparently unreachable, form of perfection. This is asinine to me. Why would I expect anyone to tell me what perfect running form looks like? More importantly, why would I expect anyone to know what the perfect running form for me is? Unless they are a clone of me, the best that they can do is tell me what is readily visible in good running form. Note the word good in that sentence. That’s not perfect, and that seems to be the problem with some people. Go ahead, open up your bing or google site and search for images of perfect running form. Go ahead, I’ll wait. I bet you 100 dollhairs that you won’t find two that are exactly the same, and that is exactly my point.

What’s good for me, might be perfect for someone else or it might be be catastrophic for that person. The VivoBarefoot coaching certification aims to provide people with the knowledge needed help people fix their form. Notice again that I didn’t say they were going to help you perfect your form.  Christian Peterson, who is an honorary puffin whether he likes it or not, has written his opinions on the coaching program. I tend to agree with him, so rather than spout off what he says, I’ll let you read it as he wrote it. You can find the article here.

What does this have to do with us Puffins? You might ask. Well, remember that listening to your body idea that I’ve been

Truer words have never been spoken.

mentioning, err slamming into your minds, in my posts? Achieving your proper, again not perfect, running form is as simple as that. Listen to your body. We were designed to run. Our bodies intuitively know what our proper running form is, and if we just got out of its way, you’d be running correctly without really noticing it. Don’t think you can watch a video of someone who isn’t you and you can just copy their form. That’s not how it works. They probably don’t have bitch tits that flop around causing all sorts of awkward movements. If they do, don’t point and laugh either. You need to do what works best for you body. It really is that simple. If someone tells you it’s not, ask yourself what they are trying to sell you or what benefit they get from telling you it’s not. Now doing what’s best for your body isn’t that easy, but learning to do that comes with time. No silver bullet to it. If you want a lesson in listening to your body, head over to Alan Thwait’s blog. That’s a man who knows how to listen to his body. I’m willing to bet you don’t have half the physical obstacles that he has had to overcome.

Until next time,

Puff

Comments
  1. Joel says:

    Hey buddy Metroprimal here; any suggestions in getting better at form? What i recall from reading born to run is: slight bend to the knee, dont over extend the legs, ease into it….anything else? I’m slowly easing my way into barefoot walking; the other day I walked half a mile home barefoot from work.

What do you think?

