Vacation time for Puffin

Posted: September 21, 2011 in Barefoot, Family, Life, Society
Tags: , , , , ,

I will be notably absent from blogging over the next 8-10 days. Starting tomorrow, August 22, at 4:30 I will be heading for vacation. Eight wonderful days in Las Vegas with my wonderful wife, my parents, and our closest family friends. I will be taking my Luna Equus and my own huarches to compare as knock around shoes. Plus, they look pretty schnazzy with a pair of jeans if I do say so myself. I will also be taking a break away from running, which is a little disappointing as I feel I have been so busy recently I haven’t gotten the kind of running in that I’d like. However, that means I’ll be itching to get back into stride (so to speak) when I get back.

My plan for Vegas is pretty simple.

1. Be barefoot/minimalist as much as possible.

2. Drink copious amounts of booze (another reason I love my gastric bypass.)

3. ???

4. Profit.

Yah, gastric bypass has done two things for me in the booze department. It’s turned me into a lightweight (about 6 guinesses will do it), and it has also given me the ability to sober up really quickly. Since my body can’t absorb as much alcohol, I simply take a leak, and sober up relatively quickly. This makes keeping the seal (yah college reference) even more important.

Along with my huarches, I’ll be taking my camelpak…To hold water by day, booze by night. 2 liters should keep me going for quite a while haha.

In blog related and barefoot news, I’m going to be featured on Maple Grove Barefoot Guy’s blog for his Fan Friday section. Truly an honor to be listed over there, so if you haven’t, click the link to his site…It’s over there…——-> that way. Click it…Subscribe to his blog. You won’t be sorry. If enough of you guys subscribe to his blog, maybe he will agree to be an honorary Puffin. Although being a super hero is nearly as cool.

Anyway, I know this is an off the wall post, but I thought I’d let you all know what is going on over the next few days.

Comments
  1. Alan says:

    I went to Vegas once – five days on a business trip. One of the most bizarre places imaginable. I’m glad I saw it, but equally glad someone else was paying the tab. After my visit, I read something that said “Las Vegas is what Disneyland would be like if the Nazis had won the war.” That captures exactly how I felt about it. Hope you have fun anyway! 🙂

    • Haha Alan, It certainly is a different place, but I highly doubt it’s what the Nazis would have envisioned for a theme park. Too much fun there for their lot. It’s just a different atmosphere than where I’m from. I’m hoping to have fun, my feet desperately need a week of relaxation I think. I’ve been putting too many miles to quickly on them and they are just TIRED. haha. Not sore, just tired. I think a break is do before my race next month. I’ll definitely be getting back to running as soon as we get back though.

  2. The post looks great Puffin. Thanks for your help. We’ll get your review up pretty soon as well.

  3. Thanks, I look forward to seeing my name in lights on your site haha.

What do you think?

