Barefoot and Overweight

Posted: September 14, 2011 in Barefoot, Family, Fitness, Health, Life, Running, Society, Weight loss
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Yeh, I run barefoot. Yeh, I’m overweight, and working on it. However, this post isn’t just about my own physical shape. This post is about getting you, yah…You with the cheetos and pepsi, off your butt and out the door. I’m not arguing that running is the greatest exercise ever to lose weight. Hell, I’m not even stating that if you start running that you will lose weight. Although, it is a real possibility. Sure, I know what some of you are thinking…Running hurts. It makes my legs sore, my knees ache, my back hurt, etc….etc…

Have you ever considered that the reason your feet/back/ankles/ass hurts is because you are running with an unnatural form or gait? Did you ever consider that the reason running is unpleasant to you is not because you are overweight or out of shape? That maybe it’s the 100-150$ shoes that are strapped on your feet? I’m not saying that it is 100% the shoe’s fault that you hurt either. Being overweight and out of shape does attribute, but I’m overweight, I WAS out of shape. I used to HATE running. Now, I LOVE to run. Don’t get me wrong, running just isn’t for some people. But being overweight doesn’t mean that it isn’t for you. There are things you can do to change being overweight. However, being overweight shouldn’t be your reason to not run.

What I am proposing is that you kick off your shoes and go for a walk. Just a short walk. Yes, without shoes. Don’t question it. Don’t talk yourself out of it. Just go. Even if it is down to the end of the street and back. What I want you to focus on is the feel of the ground beneath your feet. How does it feel? What is the texture like? Does it hurt? Is that hurt really just discomfort? Discomfort is a good thing, pain is not. We should try to avoid pain at all costs. Did you notice anything different about the way you were walking? My guess is probably not. The body subconciously protects itself by altering your gait. You walk, typically, in a manner that will protect you from injury. Will this happen on every single step that you take? Nope. It wont. At least not yet. But the important thing is that you start. Starting reclaiming your body and its natural functions.

If you are curious to learn how to run barefoot, or at least how to start there are some sites I would recommend you check out.

Primal Foot Alliance

Barefoot Runners Society

Maple Grove Barefoot Guy

All of these have a plethora of information for new barefoot runners. Plus Maplegrove Barefoot Guy is hilarious. While he may not be as informative on the how’s/why’s of barefoot running he is still garnered with much respect in the barefooting world. These are not, by any means, all of the resources out there on the subject of barefooting. I have many more links in my side bar ——> over there on the right. Tell em Puffin sent ya. Won’t get you anything extra, but it makes me feel better knowing that I’ve sent you on the path of righteousness. Not really, but I’ve always wanted to say that.

I plan on writing more blog posts on the perspective of an overweight barefooter, and how to overcome some of the obstacles that plague us more than others. So, if you are like me, and carry some spare tire around the middle…Stick around. We’ve got a lot to cover, and in a few months, who knows. Maybe we’ll be just like all the other barefooters…Only awesomer.

Until next time,

Puff

Comments
  1. Now you’re on the right track buddy. These are the kinds of posts I think you need to write. And link me more 😉

    Cheers!

    • Thank you sir. If I link you anymore, we’ll have to discuss becoming a blogger on your site haha. Yeh. I did some thinking on my run yesterday, and it got me thinking that I have this unique perspective that folks need to hear about.

What do you think?

