My Paleo Potato Replacement

Posted: August 30, 2011 in barefoot, Fitness, Food, Health, Nutrition, Paleo, Primal
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Mr. Potato Head says, eat me...I'm NOT paleo, but I'm DELICIOUS!!!!!

I’ve recently started weening myself off of sugary processed foods and have been moving to a paleo diet. I’m one of those people, as barefoot running has taught me, that learns better by doing things myself and tweaking to fit my needs. This is especially true given that my diet is forced to be played by ear due to my gastric bypass surgery. This surgery limits the types of foods I can eat as well as the preparations. One of the foods that I relied on following surgery and up until my change in nutrition was the potato. Russet, Idaho, Gold Yukon, Red, you name it I ate it. However, as anyone on the paleo diet can tell you, potatoes are a no-no. That includes sweet potatoes (unless your a child). The reason I liked potatoes was two fold. First and foremost, they were something that I could tolerate regardless of what I was eating for the rest of the meal. Secondly, they could be prepared in about a dozen different ways.

 

This leads to my dilemma. What on earth can I replace my beloved spudnik with? I’ve tried different types of root vegetables, all with the same result…I couldn’t tolerate them thanks to surgery. Preparation didn’t seem to matter either. Then one night, I was browsing one of my favorite paleo websites, everyday paleo I stumbled upon a recipe for butternut squash soup. I had been hankering for a hearty soup to take with me to work, and to reheat for days when my stomach didn’t want to tolerate anything solid. I gathered my ingredient list and went to the store. When I got home with my haul, I threw it in the fridge/cabinet and…..uh…forgot about it.  It’s just too hot at this time of the year to eat a hot soup here in Oklahoma.

Enter the new paleo potato…BUTTERNUT SQUASH. The other night I decided to cut up the squash and saute it in some rendered bacon fat (because everything is better with bacon amirite). A little garlic, salt, pepper and some delicious bacon flavor later and my steaming plate of butternut squash is ready. The flavor was DIVINE. The squash was crispy on the outside, soft on the inside, salty, peppery, just delicious. It was like eating a slightly sweeter french fry. It was awesome.

My wife likes to make baked potato chips that are coated with olive oil, salt, pepper, and Lipton’s dehydrated French Onion Soup. So, tonight, I sliced the squash wafer thin and let my wife add her chip coating to them. Tossed them in the oven, let them crisp up (note blackened edges, soft centers) and voila, delicious “potato” chips. They were really good, and far more filling than normal potato chips.

One thing that I’ve learned since I started barefoot running/living was that sometimes you have to do things yourself to find out how it works for you. NO diet, exercise program, job, etc is the same for everyone, and only you can determine if it is right for you. I’m so glad that I’ve stumbled upon a replacement for potatoes that my stomach can tolerate, and I’m sure I’ll eventually get to the butternut squash soup as well as a host of other recipes based around this awesome food.

 

Until next time,

Puff

Comments are closed.