Sole Searching

Posted: August 29, 2011 in barefoot, Fitness, Health, Life, Races, Running
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Tonight was the first night that I’ve been on a run after my week long break last week. I decided that after 5 months of running 4-5 days a week, that my body could do with a rest. So, tonight I donned my running shorts, white t-shirt, camelpak, and of course, left the shoes at home. I went to my favorite place to run, Elmer Thomas Park and decided to run the 2 mile bike path twice. My last run prior to my break was a 6 mi run following a 5k path for two laps. So, I figured that 4 miles would be a perfect distance for my first run back. I’ve recognized 4 miles as my barefoot threshold. As in, my soles get tender right around the 4 mile mark. So, that’s where I figured I would start. I imagine that I’ll continue to gradually add the distance and hopefully be at the 10k barefoot mark before Oct 16th. This is the weekend of my next 5k race, and I’d really like to be able to do it completely barefoot. I have no doubt that I can handle 5k barefoot, but I’d like to do way better than handle it. So, I figure if I can hit the 10k mark barefoot, I’ll be able to pick up the tempo for 5k.

I did notice that my rhythm was off for a bit longer than it normally takes, but I attribute that to doing absolutely no running for an entire week. It didn’t take me too long to get into the groove, and I was happy to finish up the first 2 miles and continue on for the last 2. Endurance wise, the 4 miles was a piece of cake. Never got winded, never cramped, not even a single side stitch. My cardiovascular fitness has increased phenomenally, and I can’t wait to hit the 10k mark on a consistent basis.

Until next time,

Puff

Comments are closed.