Exciting Changes on the Horizon

Posted: August 24, 2011 in barefoot, Health, Life, Running, Society, Work
Tags: , , , , ,

First I’d like to let you read a poem that I feel goes hand in hand with what this post is about. It’s a poem by Robert Frost called the Road Not Taken:

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference

This poem personifies how I’ve felt about making decisions since I first made the decision to go barefoot. This post, however, is not about being barefoot. Rather it is about the major life changes that my wife and I have decided to make. We have decided that we no longer want to live in Lawton, Oklahoma. We are going to be moving within the next year. This is not a decision that we took lightly because it means leaving my family, and part of hers. However, it also means that we are going to be experiencing new things together, I’ll be barefoot, and she’ll be shod I’m sure. We have decided that Lawton is just not the town for us. We grew up here as children, and we never have really liked being here. So, now, as adults, we are taking it upon ourselves to relocate to place that we will be happy and have things to do. While this decision may not be liked by all, we have come to the conclusion that at this juncture in our lives, it is time to take the road less traveled by.

I’ve always shyed away from doing things the easy way. I’ve never been one to sit back and do the bare minimum in life. Which given my running and lifestyle is ironic. My mother instilled this ideal into me from a very young age. She has never done things the easy way either. In fact, I think she thrives on doing things her way, whether it’s the popular choice or not. I think this is something to be admired, and it is something that should be taking place more and more in society today. However, as most of us know, the people that choose to take the road less traveled by are fewer and farther between than ever. This is exactly why the road is less traveled by. There aren’t enough people, particularly in younger generations, that want to do more than what is required, to go above and beyond expectations. However, this is what has always been expected of me. I’ve always been told to do more than the minimum. To work harder than others. I plan on instilling these values into my children as well.

Anyway, as I’ve stated, we are moving. I am very excited to make this move to a bigger city with more things to do. This also gives me a bigger audience with which to spread to word and kindle the barefoot movement here in Oklahoma. We have it particularly tough mainly due to the weather, but I feel like moving to a bigger city with more people will provide me with more opportunities to talk to people, businesses, etc about the benefits of going barefoot for more than just running. I know the move wil be hard, and we will be faced with the challenges of being in an unfamiliar place, but I feel by taking this road less traveled by I will be able to better mine and my familiy’s life.

This also means that I’ll be changing careers. I’m beginning to look at work from a whole different perspective. I want to do something that I’m passionate about. I’ve really come into my own as a writer over the last few years, and I think that I’d really like to do something in research or marketing. My background is in research, but I’ve been told I could sell ice to eskimos…Whether that’s true or not is up for speculation, but it is definitely something that I like doing, and I feel that  I would be good at it. My dream job would be to do testing/marketing/research for a minimalist shoe company. No, it doesn’t have to be a major brand like New Balance/Nike/Adidas or what not, but I feel like I have something to offer, and I especially feel this way given that minimal shoes would succeed very well here in Oklahoma. Like I’ve mentioned in other posts, Oklahoma’s weather is barefoot unfriendly for most of the year. We have sweltering summers with temperatures averagine in the 105+ that don’t subside until almost 9:00 at night. Then we are hit immediately with well below freezing temperatures for the entirety of the winter. There is very little optimal weather for actual barefooting. This is where I think minimalist shoes can shine here. While they aren’t as good as being barefoot, I would rather see more people in minimalist shoes than in highly cushioned shoe prisons. This is something I’m very passionate about, and I plan on doing everything I can with the different organizations that I am a part of, the primalfoot alliance and the barefoot runners society respectively. They provide excellent tools to help me on my mission, and I can’t wait to get started.

Anyway, stay tuned. I’m sure we are all in for a wild ride, and I’m very glad that I have you, my readers and friends to share this experience with.

Until next time,

Puff

Comments are closed.