New Balance Minimus Trail Commercial

Posted: August 19, 2011 in barefoot, Running, Shoes
Tags: , , , ,

Below is New Balance’s most recent commercial marketing their Minimus line of footwear. This ad is specifically marketing the trail. However, It is marketing something that I have a growing issue with. This video vividly demonstrates the current prejudice that mainstream society has against bare feet in public. Take a look at the video and you’ll see what I mean.

 

To some of you, this may not be a big deal. However, I wonder if my friends at the Primalfoot Alliance have seen this commercial. This commercial brings to life the very issue that is discussed in my Open Letter post. While my post gives you my ideas on the prejudice against bare feet in public places and private businesses, the letter written by the Primalfoot Alliance goes into far more detail than I do. You can find that letter here.

 

All is not lost with New Balance though. I do like their video, which is posted below, that was created when the Minimus was first released. Now obviously, it is too long to be an actual ad, but I believe that something along the lines of this video would have been a better route to go. Obviously, I’m not a marketing whiz, but the amount of people who are not only barefoot running, but barefoot LIVING is increasing, and ads that publicize the problem of bare feet in public do nothing but discourage people from making the shift to barefoot living. Hopefully more ads like this from shoe companies don’t surface. I understand that they are trying to sell their product, but I believe there are better ways to do so.

 

Here is the video that I do like, and I think it provides great insight into what kind of runners New Balance actually intended to market their shoes to:

 

Until next time,

Puff

 

 

Comments are closed.