Decisions Decisions

Posted: July 20, 2011 in Races

Yesterday my wife and I went to a seminar/meeting for an even that is held by my work place called the Spirit of Survival. This is an event, much like the relay for life, that raises money for the Southwestern Medical Cancer center. It is an all weekend even that features a Superhero 5k, and a half marathon as well as a half marathon relay. The relay is essentially a half marathon split into two 10k races…The first half being run by one partner, while the 2nd is run by another. My quarrel lies here…I’m not sure if I want to do another 5k or if I want to try and throw all my eggs in a basket and attempt the Half Marathon.

For obvious reasons I want to run the 5k. For one, it would allow me a shot at a new PR for the distance, and for another, it’s a distance that I’m comfortable running. I’d also like to run the entire race barefoot this time, and I feel 5k is the distance more appropriate for that considering my longest run ever is only 3.5 miles.

On the other hand, I want to run the Half because it would be an extreme challenge, relatively speaking of course. I have never come close to that distance, and the race is still over 12 weeks away. I figure that I might be able to up my distance enough each run to tackle it, but I know that I can’t do that all entirely barefoot for fear of too much too soon. So, there is that. I also don’t think that I could run the entire race barefoot because I think my form might suffer too far into the race. I could always carry my vff, but who really wants to do that when barefootin is obviously where it is at.

Either way, I’d like to hear your opinions on which race I should run to support this awesome cause. While no one close to me has been diagnosed with cancer, it is still a great cause that will benefit more than just people close to me and it will give me another home grown race to attend annually…So that’s awesome. Let me know what you guys think in the comments.

Until next time,

Puff.

Comments
  1. Alan says:

    Do the 5K. Excel at it (as you’re likely to). Carry that success with you to the next race you do and the next cause you support. If there’s a half coming up in a while, aim for that as your next success.

What do you think?

