Trial by fire

Posted: July 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

image

image

image

In my last post I mentioned that I was sort of resetting my barefoot training and was going to start taking Barefoot Ken Bob Saxton’s tips and tricks to the sole.

Ken Bob is a firm believer in the idea that if you can run on gravel, you can run on anything. That was the inspiration for today’s .75 mile all gravel run at a local gravel trail/ track. I ran a lap around the gravel trail (.5 mi) on mostly smaller gravel. Then I took to the gravel parking lot for another .25 miles. The gravel in both parking lot and trail was pretty hot. The air temperature was around 104 Fahrenheit, and I would imagine the ground was around the same. In order to run these paths I had to make substantial changes to my form. The most notable was a major increase in the amount that my knees were bent. This allowed my lower body to relax which in turn allowed my feet to relax and “flow” as Ken Bob puts it, over the different sized rocks and topographic differences in the ground. The stimuli was absolutely thrilling and I look forward to my next workout on this trail. My feet might look banged up but I assure that they are not. I’m feeling no pain or tenderness, and the white spots on my feet are just my pads covered in dust. Hope you enjoy the pictures.

Comments
  1. Alan says:

    Great post, great photos! Congratulations on taking this significant first step. (Pun intended.)

What do you think?

