“First start with easy…

Posted: June 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

cause if that’s all you got, then that ain’t so bad.” That is my favorite quote from Chris Mcdougall’s book “Born to Run.” While reading the book and starting off on my own barefoot adventures no quote that I’ve read has stuck with me more than that. The quote is step one of El Caballo (Micah True) Blanco’s instructions for running. If you make running easy for yourself, then you have nothing to worry about and can actually enjoy the act of running. Too many people think of running as a means to an end rather than an end itself.

There are those that race and their splits, times, distances are all that they care about with running, and that’s perfectly ok. Then there are those that run to fit into a smaller pant size or a tighter dress, and that’s ok too. Then there are those, like me, who run just for the sake of running and to push their selves just because they can, and again…that’s ok. Everyone runs for a different reason, but too many times while running have I seen a fellow runner, who, after contorting their face in curiosity over my vibram five fingers….or my barefeet…let their face return to a look of anguish. They make running look like work, and they certainly don’t seem to be having fun.

Since I’ve started barefoot running, I haven’t found myself wanting to quit mid run. I don’t find myself having to will myself the next half mile to a downhill section. I don’t find myself doing anything except running. Sure, I huff and puff (not where I got my name by the way), but I’m 225lbs and I’ve never run before in my life. Since barefoot running entered my life, I’ve not felt like a run was ever too tough. I think this is partially because I don’t care about how fast I run. I’m more focused on how far I run. The other reason is because after the first half mile or so…I zone out. It feels like I enter this instinctive state where I don’t focus on anything at all. I just keep running, and running and running. Sure 3.2 miles isn’t very much, but distance comes with time and I’m not looking to injure myself by doing too much too soon. But after tonight’s run of focusing on easy, I have realized that barefoot running isn’t so much about what is or isn’t on my feet. It’s about how I feel while running, how my mind changes when my body is doing something entirely natural.  To me, that is the most wonderful change of all.

Let me know what you think about barefoot running or how you feel when you run.

Until next time,

Puff

Comments
  1. Alan says:

    Couldn’t have said it better myself, Aaron!

What do you think?

