Foot injury status

Posted: June 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

For those keeping up with my tweets and facebook posts you’ll already know that my foot has almost completely healed. I went on a nice 1.5mi run the other day in the bikilas just to test out how my foot would feel with pressure on it. That run was a marvelous success. I decided again last night to test my foot, but I was testing for the skin repair itself. I went on a very short yet brisk barefoot run around the block at 180bpm cadence. The total distance was perhaps a quarter mile, but I didn’t notice any NEW wear or tear on the skin of my left foot. This means 2 things for me. Firstly, my foot is healing nicely and is almost back to normal. Second, my running form has improved vastly with the higher cadence and that I’m putting less stress on my feet with this new sustainable cadence.

What this means for you as a reader. This means that I’ll be able to post more about running as I pick my running back up post injury. This also means that I will be able to continue with my plans to race in the Aggie’s Axe out cancer 5k on June 18th. I’ll be doing this race with my wife, and it is my first race as well. I’m not looking for any spectacular finish time or anything, but I do want to run the entire way. I’ve done a few 5k runs on my own, and never had an issue with them…However, those were at a much lower cadence…It’ll be interesting to see how maintaining 180bpm for 5km will be over the next few days. I plan on a 5k run tonight or tomorrow followed by a (Long Slow Distance…well long for me) 4-5mile run on Sunday.

Until then,

Puff

What do you think?

