Stupid dogs

Posted: June 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

image

image

This is what happens on a wonderful stroll when a Rottweiler gets loose in the neighborhood and you scrape a pad on an uneven piece of concrete.  I was strolling along, minding my own business keeping time with my metronome at 180 beats per minute (for those wondering this is supposed to be the ideal barefoot cadence)…When all of a sudden there is a growl behind me and a giant rottweiler chasing me down the street. Unfortunately, this took my mind off form and what was in front of me, and I kicked a piece of uneven pavement…Rather than losing a toenail, something I’d much rather have had, I lost most of a pad on my foot…This took weeks to build up and will undoubtedly take a few days to heal before I can begin building it back up again.

 

There are a few things to take away from this event…Number one, I discovered that my form flaws were coming from a slow cadence. When I diligently ran 180 bpm I had no hot spots, no blisters, nothing…The other thing to take away is that, when necessary, I can out run a rottweiler. That’s good to know.

Until next time,

Puff.

Comments
  1. Alan says:

    Bad dog. But two very good things: you learned that a high cadence means no hot spots, blisters, etc. (it’s taken me thee years to learn that); and that you can outrun a Rottweiler (I don’t think I could – and don’t want to find out). Well done!

What do you think?

