Hello to all. Welcome to my little corner.

Posted: May 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

Howdy folks,

Yes, that’s a standard southern greeting. I’m from Oklahoma, and that is a pretty typical greeting from most of the people around here. My name is Aaron. I’m married to the woman of my dreams, who, by the way, thinks this barefoot lifestyle that I’ve chosen is pretty nuts. I work a 9-5 job in the scheduling department of one of the hospitals here. I have 3 dogs, whom my wife and I treat like most people treat their children. They sleep with us, they get presents for being good, and they each have individual personalities that make them lovable and unique in their own ways.

I’ve wanted to start a blog for several years now, but I’ve never really had anything that I’ve felt passionate enough to actually write about. That is, until now. In December 2009, I underwent gastric bypass surgery. This was a very tough decision for me to make because I had battled my weight for almost my entire adolescent and adult life. When I went under the knife, I officially weighed in at 304lb. This was the heaviest I had ever been in my life. Now, a little over a year after the surgery, I hover between 220 and 225lb. This is my ideal (in my eyes) weight. I’ve always been a big guy, but I wanted to be big, not obese. There is a difference after all.

After surgery, I found that I could no longer consume the kind of calories that I did before…I know. shocking. This meant 2 things. Firstly, I could no longer lift weights competitively (as any lifter knows, eating is half of your training). Secondly, I had to find nutritionally dense foods that would provide me what I needed on a daily basis, and not cause me to have an irritable stomach that wouldn’t tolerate any food. The food part was easy. The hard part was finding a means of exercise that I could enjoy and that would provide me with a stress release. This led me to running.

I had never been a strong runner, and even after weight loss, I still got shin splits, still rolled my ankles, and still didn’t enjoy running. Frustrated, I started doing research. This is when I stumbled on Vibram Five Fingers, and I was instantly hooked. I started wearing Five Fingers exclusively a little over 12 weeks ago. This also changed my running form and it was like starting all over again. The five fingers have been fantastic and I still wear them to work everyday, and when the black top asphalt is too hot to run on. However, more and more of my running is being done barefoot. And this is where this blog and my Barefoot journey begins.

In this blog, you’ll find near daily posts about barefooting and running in general. Not too mention posts about things entirely unrelated to running, such as vacations, weight loss updates, everyday events that are important in my life. So sit back, grab a glass of  iskiate (more on this later) and enjoy the ride.

What do you think?

